SORP 2018 Webinar

Webinar: Understanding Economic Impact Studies: Lessons on Data and the Outdoor Revolution
Wednesday, September 26, 2018

11am Pacific / 12pm Mountain / 1pm Central / 2pm Eastern

SORP webinars are free to members and $45 for non-members.  You can become a member online and immediately get the member rate.

DESCRIPTION OF PRESENTATION

Economic impact studies offer a valuable approach to quantifying how and why outdoor recreation matter to local/state economies. These studies are revolutionizing how outdoor recreation organizations explain why public lands matter to government officials and are a critical part of supporting outdoor recreation developments. SORP has assembled two unique professionals with extensive experience in economic impact analysis in outdoor recreation. These professionals will present on:  

  1. Learning the basics of understanding an economic impact report
  2. Learn best practices in economic impact analysis
  3. When, where, and how should economic impact studies be used in practice

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

After viewing the presentation, attendees can:

  1. Interpret the findings of a economic impact study
  2. Understand how a study area is constructed
  3. Explain three different measures of economic impact.
  4. Identify best practices in critiquing and interpreting economic impact research
  5. Possess an overview of how economic impact studies are being used in outdoor recreation

SPEAKERS
James N. Maples, PhD
Associate Professor, Sociology
Eastern Kentucky University
[email protected]

Michael J. Bradley, PhD
Associate Professor, Recreation and Park
Administration, Eastern Kentucky University
[email protected]

Dr. James N. Maples is an associate professor of sociology at Eastern Kentucky University, where he examines the political economy of renewable tourism. His research interests include the economic impact of outdoor recreation and social change in rural areas. In his free time, he is conducting an oral history of rock climbing in Kentucky’s Red River Gorge. He is also an Eagle Scout, Girl Scout dad, and metal detectorist.

Dr. Michael J. Bradley is an associate professor and director of graduate studies in the Department of Recreation and Park Administration at Eastern Kentucky University. His professional and academic interests include human dimensions of natural resource and wildlife management as well as sustainable recreation practices as it relates to outdoor recreation.