SORP 2019 Webinars: Partnerships & Collaborations

Webinar: 

Engaging Volunteers as Partners: Lessons learned working with the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, National Ski Patrol, and Community Recreation Volunteers

Wednesday, October 16, 2019
2pm Eastern / 1pm Central / 12pm Mountain / 11am Pacific

Register Now

DESCRIPTION OF PRESENTATION

This webinar will cover the role volunteers play in outdoor and community recreation organizations ranging from large non-profits to your local park district. Nate Trauntvein will discuss issues and challenges of volunteer management for outdoor recreation organizations, and lessons learned from studies conducted with the Appalachian Trail Conservancy, the National Ski Patrol, the City of Philadelphia Parks and Recreation and smaller community park organizations. We will highlight the stages of volunteer recruitment, retention, and engagement and highlight best practices in each stage.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

  • Featured “learning objectives” will include the following:
    • Understand the competitive nature of volunteer recruitment and retention for outdoor recreation organizations.

    • Understand how to maximize volunteer management efforts at each stage of the volunteer process.

    • Acquire a set of best practices, and a list of resources available to better manage volunteers.

SPEAKERS

Nate Trauntvein, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Kinesiology & Health Sciences
Faculty Fellow, Institute of Outdoor Recreation and Tourism
Utah State University

Speaker Bio
Nate is an Assistant Professor of Recreation Administration, at the Utah State University.  His research is focused on understanding alternative funding and resource management of public park and recreation, and non-profit organizations.  Nate has worked on community based, and statewide studies examining volunteerism, attitudes toward corporate sponsorship, constraints to participation, and recreation needs assessments.  Nate uses a variety of research methods ranging from qualitative to structural equation modeling.  Nate also conducts needs assessments with community recreation departments (I.e., West Valley City and North Logan).  Beyond research Nate has a passion for teaching both the undergraduate and graduate levels.  His favorite course to instruct include management of leisure services, leisure service marketing, and and issues of wilderness in American society.  In his free time away from work he enjoys hanging out with my family (wife and kids), biking, skiing, golfing, throwing a frisbee and herding buffalo.